DJI_0305.jpg

The history of Touffou

DJI_0317.jpg

Majestically dominating the valley of the Vienne, the Château de Touffou has been listed as a historical monument since 1923. It is today the living space of its current owners who have the pleasure of sharing their home, showing certain rooms of the château. An invitation to let yourself be carried away by the seductive charm of a privileged place full of history and traditions.

The history of the castle is marked by a succession of owners who built, transformed and maintained it. Built in the 12th century under the name of "Tolfol" by the Oger family, the initial Roman building was enlarged in the 15th century at the same time as the construction of the Saint-Jean Tower and the Renaissance-style west wing which subsequently underwent many transformations.

The Historic Monument label brings together owners of private historical monuments. La Demeure historique (DH) is a French association founded in 1924 by Joachim Carvalho , recognized as being of public utility in 1965.

The remarkable gardens

The contemporary gardens overlooking the Vienne river have been built gradually since 1966 by the current owners and have been labeled “Remarkable Gardens” in 2004.

The park includes three distinct gardens bringing together several eras of construction.

  • The English Garden includes a rose garden made up of four enclosed areas of yew

  • The Chaplaincy Garden is made up of a succession of squares of giant artichokes bordered by boxwood

  • The Jardin de la Terrasse de Tournois is a garden low on the Vienne where two washhouses are surrounded by boxwood beds in the shape of trapezoids covered with giant nepeta by Paolo Perjoné.

Remarkable Garden is a label that was created in 2004 by the French Ministry of Culture which aims to recognize and enhance parks and gardens open to the public and well maintained.

The Ogilvy family

David Ogilvy.JPG

The property that changed hands several times over the centuries, Touffou was bought by David Ogilvy in 1966 and is still occupied by his descendants.

 

David Ogilvy, born in 1911 in Great Britain was a major player in the advertising industry founding Ogilvy & Mather, one of the first advertising groups in the world.

At 55, he acquired Touffou and began his retirement in France with his wife, Herta Lans, whom he married in 1973. He followed all of the agency's advertising creations by telephone, mail and telex from there. In 1989,  he sold Ogilvy & Mather to WPP.

David Ogilvy lived in Touffou until his death at the age of 88 in July 1999. He described this place as "close to paradise".

DJI_0279.jpg

"Located on the banks of the Vienne, the imposing Château de Touffou reveals six centuries of architecture. The large Romanesque wing found itself gradually surrounded by buildings from different eras. Renaissance architecture is well represented with the west wing built by a comrade in arms of King François Ier. "

richesdemeures.net

DJI_0305.jpg

Bienvenue à Touffou

Dominant majestueusement la vallée de la Vienne, le séduisant Château de Touffou vous ouvre ses portes.

L'histoire de Touffou

Dominant majestueusement la vallée de la Vienne, l’historique Château de Touffou est classé aux monuments historiques depuis 1923. Il est aujourd’hui le lieu de vie de ses actuels propriétaires qui ont le plaisir de partager leur demeure, faisant découvrir certaines pièces du château. Une invitation à se laisser emporter par le charme séduisant d’un lieu privilégié plein d’histoire et de traditions.

L’histoire du château est marquée par une succession de propriétaires qui l’ont bâti, transformé et entretenu. Édifié au XIIe siècle sous le nom de « Tolfol » par la famille Oger, le donjon Roman est agrandi au XVe siècle en même temps que l’édification de la Tour Saint-Jean et de l’aile ouest de style Renaissance qui par la suite subiront de nombreuses transformations.

Le label Monument Historique regroupe des propriétaires de monuments historiques privés. La Demeure historique (DH) est une association française fondée en 1924, par Joachim Carvalhoreconnue d'utilité publique en 1965.

Les Jardins remarquables

Les jardins contemporains surplombant la Vienne ont été réalisés progressivement depuis 1966 par les propriétaires actuels et sont labellisés « Jardins Remarquables » depuis 2004.

Le parc comprend trois jardins distincts réunissant plusieurs époques de construction.

  • Le Jardin Anglais comprend une roseraie constituée de quatre espaces clos d’ifs

  • Le Jardin de l’Aumônerie est formé d’une succession de carrés d’artichauts géants bordés de buis

  • Le Jardin de la Terrasse de Tournois est un jardin bas sur la Vienne où deux lavoirs sont entourés par des parterres de buis en forme de trapèzes recouvert de népétas géants réalisé par Paolo Perjoné.

Jardin remarquable est un label qui a été créé en 2004 par le ministère de la Culture français qui vise à reconnaître et valoriser des parcs et jardins ouverts au public et bien entretenus.

La famille Ogilvy 

La propriété ayant changé de mains à plusieurs reprises au cours des ans, Touffou fût acheté par David Ogilvy en 1966 et est encore aujourd’hui occupé par ses décendants.

 

David Ogilvy, né en 1911 en Grande Bretagne fut un acteur majeur dans l’industrie publicitaire fondant Ogilvy & Mather, un des premiers groupes publiciataires au niveau mondial.

A 55 ans, il acquiert Touffou et débute sa retraite en France avec son épouse, Herta Lans, qu'il épousera en 1973. Il suivra l'ensemble des créations publicitaires de l'agence par téléphone, courrier et télex. En 1989, Ogilvy & Mather sera racheté par WPP. 

David Ogilvy vivra a Touffou jusqu'à sa mort à l'âge de 88 ans en juillet 1999. Il décrivait cet endroit comme "proche du paradis".

DJI_0279.jpg

"Situé au bord de la Vienne, l'imposant château de Touffou révèle six siècles d'architecture. Le grand donjon roman s'est retrouvé progressivement entouré de bâtiments de différentes époques. L'architecture de la Renaissance est bien représentée avec l'aile construite par un compagnon d'arme du roi François Ier."

richesdemeures.net